Quel Organ!

Quel Organ! a

“30 cm de Plaisirs French Organ Jerks”

Real COOL French 60’s Mod/Lounge/Funky/Instro compilation with some movies excerpts between the trax [reminds pretty much on legendary “Wavy Gravy” concept]. Hammond organs & fuzz guits dominated sexy dance tunes. And just to explain the pic: Miss “Pretty Baby” is on the left, Mr.E is on the right. C’ex!

01. Christian Gaubert – Autoroute Du Sud
02. George Feeling – Pulsation
03. Francis Lopez – La Honte De La Famille
04. Roger Pierre Et Jean Marc Thibault – Boof!
05. Les Sparks – Palladium
06. Stephane Varegues Et Georges Van Parys – Le Salon De The
07. The Heathen Blues – Up In The Air
08. Les Guitares Du Dimanche – Sur Une Nappe De Restaurant
09. Mickey Nicholas – Free State
10. George Delerue – Carnaby Street
11. Louis Marischal – Tu Me Tapes Sur Les Nerfs
12. Michel Polnareff & Annie Girardot – La Femme Aux Faux-Cils
13. Francois De Roubaix – I Want To Suggest
14. Philippe Nicaud – C’ex


”Dyke & the Blazers were one of the first acts possibly the first notable act to play funk other than James Brown. Indeed, they often sounded like a sort of junior version of Brown and the JB’s, playing songs in which the rhythms and riffs mattered more than the tune. Similarly, vocalist Dyke Christian sang/grunted words that mattered more for the feeling and rhythm than the content. Their best-known track, “Funky Broadway, ” was covered for a bigger hit by Wilson Pickett, though Dyke & the Blazers got a few more R&B hits before Dyke was shot to death in 1971.”
Subtitled The Ultimate Broadway Funk, no one’s going to beat this as the ultimate Dyke & the Blazers compilation. The two-CD, two-hour-and-20-minute set has everything they released on 45 or LP between 1967-1970, including unedited full-length versions of seven of their singles, no less than 13 previously unissued tracks, and even some radio station promos.

It could be that less intense funk/Dyke fans might wish for a more succinct single-disc comp concentrating on the official singles, especially as, like many single-artist funk anthologies, the grooves get a little similar-sounding over the course of two-plus hours. Then again, if you like the group enough to get a Dyke & the Blazers collection in the first place, you might well be the type who thrives on such lengthy dwellings on the primeval funk groove. And as such grooves went, few were better (and very few artists, if any other than James Brown, did them earlier) or earthier than Dyke & the Blazers, even if it turns out that session musicians (including members of the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band) often played the parts of the Blazers in the studio.

The anthology is conveniently divided into one disc of their 1966-1967 sessions (all held in Phoenix, where the band was based at the time) and a second of their 1968-1970 sessions (which all took place in Hollywood), though the quality remains consistent throughout. That counts the many unreleased tracks, which are generally up to the standard of what the band officially released, including some (like the ultra-kinetic — if marred by some out-of-tune horns — &”She Knows It,” the upbeat “Let’s Do It Together,” and the untypical serious ballad “Why Am I Treated So Funky Bad?”) that would have ranked among their more interesting efforts had they been issued at the time.” [Richie Unterberger]
If you want your funk long, dirty & uncut, this is fer ya. Dyke gonna funk you long time. Stay in the groove!

IT’S HAPPENING Vol.1,2,3 [Forgotten Dancer Treasures]

Interesting mix of some rare late 60’s/early 70’s Mod, Soul, Funk, Bubblegum, Lounge dance tunes. There are more volumes in this fun vinyl only series but I got only these. Well, IT’S what’s HAPPENING!!!
01. Rick Mcphail – Introduction
02. Paul Revere & The Raiders – It’s Happening
03. Ernie Garrett – Eleanor Rigby
04. Cliff Nobles – The Horse
05. Luther Ingram – I Spy (For The F.B.I.)
06. Roland Kirk – Making Love After Hours
07. Georgie Fame – Seventh Son
08. The Nirvana Sitar & String Group – The Letter
09. Jonathan King – Let It All Hang Out
10. Jack Mcduff – Wade In The Water
11. Oscar Brown Jr. – The Snake
12. The Capitols – Tired Running From You
13. Chubby Checker – (At The) Discotheque
14. Jacques Dutronc – A La Queue Les Yvelines
15. Unknown Artist – Harter Tag (Bonus Track)


01. Rick McPhail – Introduction
02. Eddie Carlton – Things Are Getting A Little Tougher
03. Trax 4 – Coming Home Baby
04. The Shadows Of Knight – Run Run Billy Porter
05. Mose Allison – I’m Not Talking
06. Lonnie Satin – Soul Bossa Nova
07. Knut Kiesewetter – Stop Stop Stop
08. James & Bobby Purify – I Take What I Want
09. Brian Bennet – Sunny Afternoon
10. Alexander Stone – Man In The Suitcase
11. Bobby More – Hey Mr. DJ
12. The Cavaliers – Hold To My Baby
13. Bob Seger & The Last Heard – East Side Story
14. HET – Keije Nagan
15. Unknown Artist – Bonus Track
01. The Impressions – The Young Mods Forgotten Story
02. Chuck Jackson – I Only Get This Feeling
03. The Village Callers – I Don’t Need No Doctor
04. Billy Hawks – Let Me Love You Before You Go
05. The Redcaps – Talkin’ Bout You
06. Little Esther Phillips – Cherry Wine
07. Jackie Wilson – Light My Fire
08. New Dawn – Slave Of Desire
09. The Zombies – Summertime
10. Pucho – Cantaloop Island
11. Billy Larkin – Hold On I’m Coming
12. Roy Hamilton – You Shook Me Up
13. Shirley Ellis – Sugar Let’s Shing-A-Ling
14. Unknown Artist – Bonus Track

MICKEY MURRAY – People Are Together [1970]

Throughout the sixties, Mickey Murray made a name for himself as a hard working entertainer viewed by many as a cross between James Brown and Otis Redding. He held a regular gig with Dyke and The Blazers on Broadway in NYC, toured with Wilson Pickett and The Staple Singers, and also performed sporadically with the queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin. All of his hard work finally paid off (though not financially) when he recorded his first single, “Shout Bamalama” in late 1967. It sold a million copies!
In 1969 Murray was signed to King Records. The label was preparing for the inevitable loss of James Brown. Since they obviously couldn’t afford to sign another act of Brown’s caliber, they decided to develop their own. Mickey was groomed by the label to become their next superstar act. He recorded People Are Together and they prepared to release it in 1970 on their Federal Records imprint. They chose the title track as the lead single. The response from most of the black DJs they relied on for support was that they wouldn’t play the song. Most of them feared that the song was far too racially provocative for a developing artist. In fact, many black DJs said they were concerned they’d lose their job if they played the track. It didn’t take long at all for King to abandon the release. According to Murray, the record may have never actually been formally released in stores.”
Cool & rare Soul/Funk slab on Federal label. Surfadelic got Soul. 
Move your funky ass and Dig!!!